Freaky Friday: Brian Eno

Although he’s best known as a producer these days, Brian Eno started out as a composer and musician.  He was originally a member of Roxy Music, but left for a solo career after their second album.  It turns out not everyone wants to be a Rock star.

Eno is considered the father of ambient music, but his creations weren’t bland, lifeless melodies pumped into elevators and malls.  He was a minimalist, but it wasn’t just random notes strung together.  Eno builds an atmosphere, a mood, with his seemingly simple songs.  The music is gorgeous, but never maudlin or sentimental.  I probably ought to meditate to this stuff because it makes me feel the way Mark Rothko paintings do.  I feel like I’m floating, and like my crazy monkey mind can finally slow down.

So here’s a little peace for you today, dear readers, in the form of Music for Airports.  Although I think maybe it should have been called Music for Air, because that’s what it feels like.

About purplemary54

I'm a music fan who likes to talk and write about music. I also hold opinions about lots of other things--books, politics, sports, movies, whatever. You name it, I'll say something about it.

Posted on January 24, 2014, in Experimental, Freaky Friday, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. LOVE IT. “Air” fits. I went to sleep with this kind of music on last night and woke up feeling like a million bucks.
    If you haven’t already, make it a point to go through Chicago’s O’Hare International United terminal…you get a sound track like Eno plus a light show. Very cool….just like your well-tuned ear. Travel well. Dan

  2. Some of my favorite albums have been produced by Brian Eno, I really liked his LP “Here Come The Warm Jets” nice post on a very underrated talent

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

