myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Daydream Believer”

Posted by purplemary54 on February 24, 2012

“Daydream Believer” is one of those songs I’ve never heard a bad version of.  I’ve got it on my ipod three times by three different artists.  Admittedly, it doesn’t make a lot of sense, but it seems sweet.  Most people are familiar with The Monkees’ version, and it holds up surprisingly well 40 plus years down the line.  But have you ever heard Shonen Knife’s cover?  It’s Japanese pop princesses on speed (seriously, listen to it and come up with a better description).  I love it for the incongruity, and for the fact that it rocks.  I’d kind of like to hear Shonen Knife cover the entire Monkee’s catalog.  I think they’d really do it justice.

The version that surprised me the most was a little more obscure.  And a little more embarrassing to mention.  See, I used to watch Dawson’s Creek occasionally (only for a little while during the big Pacey-Joey arc, I swear).  During the Pacey-Joey romance, they played a soft piano-based “Daydream Believer” by Mary Beth Maziarz.  She takes a cute pop tune and turns it into an achingly tender love song (it is a love song, I guess, but that kind of gets lost in the silly lyrics).  I was so pleased to find this version on one of the show’s soundtracks (and yes, I own it; it was the days before I had itunes and DSL).

I’ve never heard of Maziarz outside of the show; she doesn’t even have a Wikipedia page.  So I googled her, and found out that she had a whole mess of songs on Dawson’s Creek–enough that she actually released a disc of all the songs she did for them (check it out at her official website if you want; that’s where I got the info).  She’s a bland, inoffensive singer-songwriter, the kind of artist you’d hear on an easy listening station.  I sampled a couple other songs at the website, but nothing caught my attention.  Maybe she just needed some quality material.

It’s weird to think of “Daydream Believer” as quality material, but it is.  I never get tired of this song.  The nicest thing about it is that it seems to be malleable.  Anyone can twist and turn it until it becomes something new.

Leave a Reply

 
