myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Davy Jones

Posted by purplemary54 on February 29, 2012

I just wrote about “Daydream Believer” a few posts ago.  This morning I turn on my computer and see that Davy Jones has died.  He might not have been as big a celebrity as Whitney Houston anymore, but I was always a fan.

The Monkees were a better band than critics ever gave them credit for, and with his background in musical theater, Davy Jones was a better performer than many people realized.  I never felt that his charm was forced, even if he did seem a little vaudevillian on occasion (okay, most of the time, but that was part of the charm).  He could sing and act well enough for pop stardom, which was all most people ever needed.

I’m a little stunned, the way I always am when one of my favorites dies.  Sure, he was getting old.  And his health was probably affected by previous problems with drugs/alcohol.  But it was hard to think of Davy as anything but cute and young, making googoo eyes at pretty girls and cracking wise in an episode of The Monkees.

One of my favorite Monkee moments was “Gonna Buy Me a Dog.”  Micky Dolenz and Davy trade one-liners and tired jokes around a not-very-good song.  It seems mostly improvised and everyone seems to be having the time of their lives.  That’s how I want to remember Davy Jones.  Giggling and laughing, and performing for no one but himself and his friends.

Leave a Reply

 
