myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“That’s Alright Mama”

Posted by purplemary54 on August 16, 2012

Had my tests this morning; everything seemed to go okay.  If I don’t get a phone call in the next couple of days, I should be good to go.  Now that I’ve had all my fun booby squishing and squashing for the day, it’s time to move forward.  Or backward, as the case may be.  Time is just a bunch of timey-wimey. . . stuff, after all.

Today’s the 35th anniversary of Elvis Presley’s death.  I remember the way the whole world just seemed to stop with the news of his passing.  People were stunned.  There was non-stop coverage on TV.  I was eight, and we’d just moved into a new house.  Star Wars was well on its way to world domination.  And Elvis was gone.  It’s a little difficult for us to imagine today how Earth-shattering that news was.  I can’t imagine a single musician today that would merit the same kind of attention.  Maybe Paul McCartney or Bob Dylan.  But that’s about it.

It’s also a little difficult for us to understand today just how much he changed the world.  John Lennon once said that before Elvis, there was nothing.  That pretty much sums it up.  Oh, sure, Rock & Roll existed, but Elvis was like the big bang of popular music.  Even Bob Dylan, who became famous as a folkie, Woody Guthrie-wannabe, first picked up a guitar because he wanted to be Elvis.  He was one of the most important entertainers and cultural icons of the 20th Century.  To honor him today, I want to go back to the song that launched him with Sun Records.  I can’t think of a better way to remember him.

 

5 Responses to ““That’s Alright Mama””

  1. alundeberg said

    I love the scene in Forrest Gump when Elvis watches Forrest dance and it inspires his gyrations. The world was shocked by those moves! They would croak if they saw what kids today (or even of my generation) do! A couple of years ago, when I was in England with a friend, we talked about how much culture came out of England from all of the various authors and musicians. We wondered who America had that ranked as high– then we walked by an Elvis store. Problem solved.

  2. Keeping my fingers crossed about your breast examination. I like this — the rockabilly version — right? Didn’t he do another version?

Leave a Reply

 
