myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Andy Warhol’s Dead But I’m Not”

Posted by purplemary54 on August 28, 2012

My brain is a little soft tonight, so that’s one of the reasons this entry is a little short on analysis.

The other reason I don’t have much to say about this band is that I can’t find out much.  E*I*E*I*O (never enter that for a Google or YouTube search, btw) is a midwestern band from the mid to late 80s that had a minor MTV hit with “Hey Cecilie” (another great song).  They have a MySpace and a Facebook page (but nothing on Wikipedia).  That’s about it.  Now I could go dig up my CD–which I bought used to replace my cassette copy of this), but that will give me nothing but the bare facts.  I want something I can sink my teeth into.

Like what on Earth inspired these guys to write a song like “Andy Warhol’s Dead But I’m Not”?  It’s sort of a love song.  If you’re definition of a love song is kind of vague and open to interpretation.  To be honest, it’s kind of musical booty call with pop culture references.  Right up my alley.  If I were into booty calls, that is.  Really, they’re kind of more trouble than they’re worth.  Not to mention wrong if you happen to be married or in a committed relationship.  I’ll stop babbling now.

Regardless, it’s a really fun song.  Just the kind of thing my brain needs right now.  Sorry the video is kind of boring.  I hope you enjoy it anyway.  This song really is kind of clever, even if it is kind of incomprehensible.  It has a great opening, too.  I’m babbling again, aren’t I?

Leave a Reply

 
