myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Mickey”

Posted by purplemary54 on September 9, 2012

I’ve spent much of the day watching football and tennis.  Come to think of it, I’ve been watching football and tennis for the whole weekend (except for an hour when Doctor Who was on.  Awesome episode this week!).  I’ll be working tomorrow when the tennis is on (the U.S. Open has had three years of finishing on Monday because of the weather) and the first half of football (but Monday Night Football usually sucks anyway).  So my brain is in kind of an odd place.  The kind of place where cheerleaders dancing in an empty white space seems perfectly normal.

Toni Basil is one of those multi-talented dynamos that seems to have been involved with everything at one point or another.  She is a dancer and choreographer for the most part, but she has also acted, directed, produced, and (oh yeah) sang.  (For more detail about her work, you can check out her official site here, or Wikipedia’s page on her here.)

This video was still in pretty regular rotation on MTV when we first got cable (about two years after the song was released).  I’m sure she used cheerleaders for it because the chorus sounds like a cheer.  “Mickey” is one of those songs that I think I could easily go the rest of my life without ever hearing again, until I hear it again.  Then I’m singing along and bopping to the beat (or bopping around, anyway; I have no rhythm).  It’s a great workout/exercise song, and if I ever bother to make that kind of playlist for my ipod, “Mickey” will be on it.  It’s just cute and happy and kind of mindless.  Which brings me back to my state of mind.

Many people find it weird that I like football.  They probably think, “Purplemary is such a nice person—intelligent, feminist, pacifist, and liberal.  What in heaven’s name does she see in a violent, redneck, sexist sport like football?”  (Okay, no one ever thinks that, but I’m pretty sure some of my friends question my sanity when I bring up football.)  I blame my dad for explaining the rules to me when I was a teenager trying to bond with him on weekend visits.  And Joe Montana.  I saw him play, and I was gone for good.  He was perfect and graceful in the pocket, and made some of the prettiest passes anyone ever saw.  So yeah, I likes me a good game.  And any game the 49ers win is a good game.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna go check out the rest of the Denver-Pittsburgh match up.

Leave a Reply

 
