myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

The Constitution of the United States of America

Posted by purplemary54 on September 17, 2012

Today is Constitution Day in the United States.  I’m not sure why this day doesn’t get more attention as an important national holiday, except that maybe actually paying attention to the document that governs our country is a little too much trouble for most people.  It’s been a long time for me, so I don’t remember everything, but I read the Constitution when I was in school.  It is the single most important document in American history.  It is also surprisingly easy to read.  The language gets a little complex, but it is never obscure or obtuse.  So, in honor of Constitution Day, I present an audio reading of our governing principles for anyone who wants to listen to it.  No, it’s not a song.  It’s a little more important than that.

Wanna read along?  Go here.  Not American?  You might want to check it out anyway; then you’ll have ammunition for arguing with our overly patriotic nitwits.

One of the things that has always struck me about the Constitution is that it sets age limits for election to Congress and the Presidency.  The main job requirements for President?  You must be a natural-born U.S. citizen and at least 35 years old.  That’s it.  Which means I am qualified to be President of the United States.  I need a full-time job, so maybe I should run.

Okay.  I really couldn’t let this day slip by without adding this clip, which also means I’m reneging on yesterday’s post a little bit.  You can stop being grateful I didn’t include Schoolhouse Rocks (or start being grateful I did).  And at least this one’s a song.

This is how I memorized the Preamble to the Constitution.  I still have to sing it.

4 Responses to “The Constitution of the United States of America”

  1. Hehehehe…Schoolhouse rocks! Nice.

  2. I still love Schoolhouse Rock. Thanks for letting me know about a holiday I didn’t know existed, but should. =)

  3. Schoolhouse Rock should be regularly presented on tv again. I’m afraid it’s the only way the up and coming generation will be taught these things in ways that they will pay attention to. We may wind up getting the dvd’s.

Leave a Reply

 
