myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“One Day at a Time”

Posted by purplemary54 on September 24, 2012

TV themes have always held a special place in my heart.  Maybe because besides the radio and whatever my parents listened to, TV theme songs were my first real exposure to music.  They are, sadly, a dying breed.  Most shows have sacrificed a good theme song for more ad space, and they run the opening/closing credits over actual scenes from the show.  I kind of hate that.

I also kind of hate that I just read over at IMDB that Bonnie Franklin, TV mom and early feminist role model extraordinaire, has been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer.  Now I’m no dummy.  I know that this is one of the toughest cancers to treat, and the survival rate is very low, so I’m not holding out a lot of hope.  I am sending Bonnie and her family my love and prayers.  She was one of the best, most realistic, TV moms.  She didn’t have all the answers, she didn’t wear pearls while doing housework (heck, she didn’t have time to do the housework; she was too busy supporting herself and her daughters), and she refused to be a doormat for any man.  I didn’t realize it at the time, but Bonnie Franklin’s Ann Romano taught me a lot about what it meant to be a Feminist.  It seems kind of trivial, but every time I introduce myself as Ms. Purplemary, I think about her and her insistence on taking back her own last name after her divorce and that she be referred to as “Ms, M-S, no period.”  These days, all women are Ms. (with the period, thanks to usage) unless they state otherwise, so no one really thinks about how revolutionary that act of naming oneself really was.  I am not a child or a wife.  I am not beholden to anyone else for my existence.  I do not have to justify myself with patriarchal identifiers.  I will decide what to be called, and if you don’t like it, take a hike.

The theme from One Day at a Time has always been one of my favorites.  I used to watch the show in reruns during the mornings and afternoons when I was a young teenager.  I’d sing along and tap my toes against the shelves the TV sat on (I liked to lay on the floor to watch TV back then).  Sometimes, I’d watch the closing credits just to hear it again. It’s a pretty cool song.

2 Responses to ““One Day at a Time””

  1. alundeberg said

    Schneider! I never had the channels to consistently watch re-runs of this show, so whenever I found it, I felt so lucky. My favorite theme song is from MASH– it reminds me of my little Strawberry Shortcake t.v. tray, putting butter in chili, and winter evenings. Another great one is “Moving On Up”.

    On a side note, I also go by Ms. even though I’m married. I also kept my name (my husband’s last name is the most generic out there– not only would I give up my name, I’d go from one in a million to one of a million) because I wanted to keep my identity. The Mr. and Mrs. thing never appealed to me. It confounds my students, but I explain my rationale.

    • I know a lot of women who kept their names when they got married. I’d do it if I ever got married, but that’s partly because I’m too old to have to learn how to sign my name again.

Leave a Reply

 
