myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Classical Gas”

Posted by purplemary54 on September 25, 2012

I was over at Dangerous Minds this morning, and I saw this post about Mason Williams’ beautiful instrumental piece “Classical Gas” and how it came to be the soundtrack for a student film by Dan McLaughlin titled “3000 Years of Art.”  This is apparently not the original, but it’s pretty darn fun, nonetheless.

Honestly, this video really hits all my geek buttons: music geek, art history geek, even comedy geek–indirectly, since Williams was a writer for The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour at the time.  The film was shown on the show, helping to propel “Classical Gas” into the Top 10 the summer of 1968.  My dad is a fan of Mason Williams, although whether it’s for his music or his weirdness is up for debate.  (One of my father’s favorite stories about Williams is how he had walls in his house that moved.  This may or may not be true, since my father has a tendency toward tall tales.  He really did have an elephant once, though.)

Watch the video if you haven’t already.  It promises that you’ll be “cultured” after it’s done.  Maybe.  And then again, maybe culture is just for yogurt and petri dishes.  I just like the art and the music.

3 Responses to ““Classical Gas””

  1. I always liked this song. I had no idea Mason Williams was a writer for the Smothers Brothers. You learn something new everyday!

  2. I really like the video, I am now cultured!

Leave a Reply

 
