myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Andy Williams

Posted by purplemary54 on September 26, 2012

I once dated a guy who once sang back-up for Andy Williams on a tour.  That’s about the only time I’ve ever thought of Andy Williams.  He was always a little too smooth for me.  He lacked the swagger of Sinatra, the boozy charm of Dean Martin, the quiet command of Bing Crosby.  He was one of the also-rans in my mind for many years.

But he sang “Moon River” with such a gentle sadness and a touch of a smile.  Even though I sort of prefer the original from Breakfast at Tiffany’s, his version might be the definitive one.  It’s so lovely to hear a good song sung by a good singer.  He seemed like a good man who loved his family and treated his audience with respect.  That’s more than a lot of people can say.

I hope you’re crossing that Moon River in style today, Mr. Williams.

5 Responses to “Andy Williams”

  1. dan4kent said

    Well spoken. I’ll be paying tribute to Mr. Williams in my next post. Thank you for having done a wonderful encapsulation. Good stuff. Dan

  2. […] https://myelectronicjukebox.wordpress.com/2012/09/26/andy-williams/#comment-829 […]

  3. alundeberg said

    My mom and I listened to our Andy Williams Christmas record every year while decorating the house. I can’t not think of him without having “Do You Hear What I Hear?” floating through my head. He was a good man.

  4. Yeah, I mentioned Andy William’s passing to a couple of people and this is the song the recall first off. I loved Andy Williams — like you say in essence, he just seemed to be a nice guy — he had such a calming presence.

Leave a Reply

 
