myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“The Warrior”

Posted by purplemary54 on September 27, 2012

Okay, seriously.  What is it about this song?  It doesn’t make any sense; I can’t even understand half the lyrics (and I’ve never cared enough to look them up).  It sounds like the show-stopping finale on an episode of Fame. (Remember that show?  I loved it when I was in high school.  Yeah, I can totally see Nia Peeples and Jesse Borrego dancing around each other in some sort of psuedo-romantic, jazz hands-heavy number complete with glitter and a fog machine.)  And the video looks like some kind of post-apocalyptic Cats.

Bad costumes and 80s makeup aside, Patty Smyth really had a pretty good set of pipes.  (I haven’t heard her sing in a long time, so I’m not sure how good she still is.  These days, I know her best as Mrs. John McEnroe.)  And for whatever reason, this song is catchy and fun.  Maybe that’s it.  It’s fun.  There’s an innocence to “The Warrior”  that you only hear in music recorded by prepubescents these days (and even then only occasionally).  This is not a song about hooking up or booty calls.  Nor is it about an epic everlasting love.  It’s about. . . . dating.  The weird dance men and women do around each other after they’ve exchanged numbers but before they have sex.  (I’m pretty sure there’s still some time in between those two events.)  This is going out for coffee.  Or to the movies.  This song is all about holding hands and making out (hands above the waistline, please).  Flirting.  Fun.

Huh.  Maybe it does make sense after all.

5 Responses to ““The Warrior””

  1. There was an odd sort of innocence about a lot of 80s music, wasn’t there. This was a good song.

  2. dan4kent said

    I remember driving around and hearing this on AM radio. Never thought of it as “post-apocalyptic” (until just now)…so one more time, ‘good get’. You gave me cause to re-examine a track I thought I knew. Fun. I’m grinning. Dan

  3. Mary,
    As soon as you said you hadn’t bothered to look up the lyrics, my ocd tendencies perked up and without thought a new tab appeared on my screen with said lyrics. http://www.lyrics007.com/Scandal%20Lyrics/The%20Warrior%20Lyrics.html

    I miss the bubble gum rock of the ’80’s

    Thanks for the memories.
    Kina

Leave a Reply

 
