myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Birdhouse in Your Soul”

Posted by purplemary54 on October 2, 2012

Sorry I’m a little later than usual tonight.  The World Series of Poker was on a little late tonight, and I just had to watch a bunch of people sitting around playing cards.

Actually, I’m feeling a little weird tonight.  Not weird as in there’s something wrong.  I mean weird, as in I feel like putting on a plaid shirt and riding a bicycle around in circles for no apparent reason.  Lucky for me, there’s a song and video for that.

They Might Be Giants have made some of the most accessible weird music ever.  I thought about posting some Pere Ubu or PIL tonight (still might do some PIL in the near future; John Lydon is one of my heroes).  I even found a pretty good Pere Ubu song to honor my tardiness (check it out here if you think you want to give it a listen).  I’d never heard it before, and it confirmed for me that I really need to give Pere Ubu another listen.  They’re the kind of seriously good band that I just wasn’t ready to hear back in my 20s.    But for now it’s TMBG in all their glorious, wonderful absurdity.

“Birdhouse in Your Soul” is one of those songs I find myself singing for no reason whatsoever.  I’m usually doing something like cooking dinner or putting away the laundry, and suddenly I’m singing “Blue canary in the outlet by the light switch, who watches over youuuu” as if I could actually sing.  (For the record, my voice wouldn’t be bad if I wasn’t completely tone deaf.)  It’s such an irresistible song.  So why resist.  Resistance is futile. (Thus completing some sort of geek trifecta of knowing who Pere Ubu was, knowing the lyrics to a TMBG song, and quoting Captain Picard.)  If none of this makes sense to you, maybe you accidentally clicked on the wrong link.  Which would make perfect sense.

4 Responses to ““Birdhouse in Your Soul””

  1. First I was like ‘They have World Series of Poker?!’, then I thought that you were just kidding. But I Googled it, and they have a World Series of Poker! This is news to me
    I like that song, it’s going to be stuck in my head all day 🙂

    • The WSOP is about as old as I am. It blew up a few years ago when an amateur named Chris Moneymaker won the Main Event. Nowadays, every yahoo with $10,000 and some chutzpah enters. I just like watching it on TV, even if ESPN insists on calling it a sport.

  2. This is my favorite TMBG song. They’re wacky, those guys. And they do children’s albums now, from what I hear. I bet they’re really cool.

Leave a Reply

 
