myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Light Enough to Travel”

Posted by purplemary54 on October 15, 2012

I’m pretty sure there’s a lot of people who’ve never heard of The Be Good Tanyas.  I’m going to try to fix that.  I would like all of my followers (and any casual readers) to tell someone they know about The Be Good Tanyas.  You don’t have to go into great detail.  You don’t have to say they’re from Vancouver, British Columbia, or that a couple of their songs were featured on Showtime’s The L Word.  You don’t have to be able to name the three women in the group (Frazey Ford, Trish Klein, and Sam Parton).  You don’t even have to direct them to the Tanyas official website (though I’m pretty sure they would like that).

Just tell them to listen to this.

If this song doesn’t sell The Be Good Tanyas to people, then I really don’t know what will.  The despair and resignation in Ford’s voice is a living thing, pulsing beneath the surface of the entire song.  (I believe she does the lead vocals; see, I’m a fan and even I don’t know that much about them.)  This character is a woman who’s been disappointed by life so often she doesn’t know any other way to exist.  “Keep it light enough to travel” is the only thing she still believes in.  Be able to throw everything you own into a couple of bags at a moment’s notice, because you never know when everything is going to go to hell in a handbasket.  In fact, it’s probably better to get before the gettin’s good, “don’t let it all unravel.”

This particular song came from their debut, Blue Horse, which is sadly the only album I have by them right now.  I’ll get the rest as soon as I can.  They are one of those minor miracles of music that come along every so often.  Give them a listen.

Leave a Reply

 
