myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Galileo”

Posted by purplemary54 on October 18, 2012

This upsets my theme of lesser-known women in music because The Indigo Girls are pretty well known.  In my defense, this was inspired partly by this post by Kina.  All that talk about forgiveness got me thinking.  Because while I am not a Christian, I strive toward the ideal of forgiveness the church preaches.  It’s not just Christians, of course.  Our Jewish brothers and sisters have devoted an entire holy day to atonement, which is similar to asking for forgiveness.  Buddhists preach forgiveness in the form of compassion for all living things–including yourself.  Because that’s the real trick of forgiveness.  Getting and receiving it isn’t about the sin or atoning for it.  It’s about forgiving yourself.  Even when you forgive the trespasses of others, you are essentially forgiving yourself (especially if you believe in the Buddhist principle that we are all one).  So here it is. . . .

I forgive myself.  If reincarnation is real, I forgive all the Me’s that have ever been and all the Me’s that ever will be.  I forgive everyone who has ever harmed me or someone I love.  (Well, almost everyone; I’m still working on forgiving a certain man who shot a certain rock star.)  I forgive my brother for being an ass.  I forgive all the kids who ever teased me.  I forgive myself for ever teasing another kid.  (I was really rotten a few times.  I’m sorry, and I ask your forgiveness, wherever you are.)  I forgive all the bigots and creeps and Wall Street criminals (but that doesn’t mean I’m letting a single one of you off the hook).  I’m not perfect.  Hell, I’m not even enlightened, yet.  But no one else is either.  So we’re cool.

Don’t forget to vote(See, I’m getting better already.)

2 Responses to ““Galileo””

  1. Mary,
    You honor me. Thank you.
    Blessings,
    Kina

Leave a Reply

 
