myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“In a Big Country”

Posted by purplemary54 on October 24, 2012

I’m feeling a little blah today.  I think I’m coming down with a cold (probably something I caught while I was waiting for my dad at the ER last Friday).  I’ll just drink some Naked Juice Green Machine and OD on vitamin C, and I’ll be good as new in a couple of days.

Yesterday’s post on Billy Idol seems to have inspired an 80s kick, so for anyone who doesn’t care for the music from that time . . . . PFFFTHT!

I don’t like all 80s music, but what I like I really, really like.  Scottish band Big Country’s “In a Big Country” was one of those few songs that dodged the Don’t-Put-Your-Band’s-Name-In-The-Title-Of-Your-First-Single curse (trust me; it’s real).  Although the band was never more than a one hit wonder in the U.S., I know they remained successful in Europe for a long time after this song dropped off the charts.  But “In a Big Country” is the one song that stuck with me.

It’s a great tune.  Big country were a little ahead of their time, really.  They incorporated traditional Scottish instruments like bagpipes into this song long before “world music” became a trend.  It does seem like everyone these days uses fiddles or accordions or penny whistles or some odd sort of instrument to add to their sound.  I’m not objecting; I think it adds to the richness of music.  And having Irish and French Canadian heritage, I really appreciate it.  It appeals to something deeply genetically encoded in me.  I just think these guys ought to get credit for being at the forefront of this movement.

The video is loads of fun, too.  It’s one of those prototypical early 80s videos, with a silly story intersected with shots of the band playing their song “live” (we all know it was lip-synched).  I’m not entirely sure what’s going on, and I don’t really care.  This song is good enough to overcome any video.

That’s about all I got today.  I have to save some energy for work.

10 Responses to ““In a Big Country””

  1. Get well soon!
    How’s your dad now?

    • I’m actually feeling a little better. Never did feel too bad. . . just that little weirdness that tells you something might be coming on. Dad’s doing just fine. He’s going to have some minor surgery (maintenance on something else) in the next couple of weeks, but it’s nothing to get too worried about. Thanks for the good wishes!

  2. I hope you feel better and that your dad’s doing much better.

    I used to love this song. I’d love to go to Scotland one day.

  3. Ditto what Sandee said — I hope you feel better and that your dad is doing okay as well. And I love this song too. I can’t hear it without time warping right back to high school.

    • I almost never skip this on the ipod. It’s just that good to listen to. Let’s see. . . I thanked Miss Four Eyes for good wishes, and Sandee for thinking of us. . . hmmm. I know. Thanks for the happy vibes!

  4. alundeberg said

    Are you feeling better? I love the silliness of this video– they don’t videos like this anymore. Wait do they still make videos?

Leave a Reply

 
