myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“I’ve Got a Rock ‘N Roll Heart”

Posted by purplemary54 on November 18, 2012

I was having some trouble choosing a song tonight, so I paused the computer, skipped about 25 songs, and hit play.  Seems like I hit the perfect choice.

I really do have a rock & roll heart.  I don’t really care one way or the other about ’57 Chevys, but play me some electric guitar, and I will probably follow you anywhere.  It’s the first place I found where I could ever really be myself, the first thing I could ever call mine.  I’ve mentioned before that I’m not very musical in terms of talent (but I wield a pretty mean pen/computer keyboard).  But music has always felt like home for me.  Some of my earliest memories revolve around listening to music.  One of my favorite toys when I was tiny was this Fisher Price record player.

       My first music collection–image from Alivias Toys

The little plastic records played classic children’s songs.  I seem to remember “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” getting a lot of play.  Music has always been present in my life.

When I discovered rock & roll, I was hooked.  The Beatles, Elvis, Chuck Berry. . . . you name it, I’ve probably at least tried to listen to it.  I tend to shy away from the pompous and self-important.  I’m not usually a big fan of whatever’s hot at the moment.  And very often, I slip away from rocking and rolling to listen to some sweetly introspective acoustic.  But I always come back.

Eric Clapton gets criticized a lot (sometimes rightly) for his pop tendencies, but he really hit all the right notes with this song, literally and figuratively.  I don’t need a new theme song, but this is one of those songs that describes me to a T.  “Here’s what you’re gettin’, and I don’t want to change.  I get off on ’57 Chevys.  I get off on screaming guitars.  Like the way it gets me every time it hits me, I’ve got a rock ‘n roll, I’ve got a rock ‘n roll heart.”

 

Leave a Reply

 
