myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Jenni Rivera

Posted by purplemary54 on December 10, 2012

News came yesterday that popular Mexican-American singer Jenni Rivera was killed in a plane crash along with five other people.  I am the first one to admit my ignorance of Mexican and Spanish-language music.  I can’t tell the differences between the various genres.  Rivera was apparently a banda singer, which is a male-dominated genre popular in Mexico and across the southwest United States.  Rivera had achieved her fame in the last decade, with both her music and her VH1 reality show, We Love Jenni.

This one hits a little close to home–literally.  Rivera was from Long Beach, and the same age as me.  There are news crews in our city (her family lives here), although I haven’t seen any of them.  Because mainstream American music is so insular, and because I don’t listen to any of the Spanish-language stations out here, I’d only ever heard of her through her TV show.  But in addition to her entertainment careers, Rivera was also a successful entreprenuer.  More importantly, she was an outspoken advocate for Domestic Violence Awareness (Rivera had survived an abusive first marriage).  I admire the strength and drive she possessed.  Jenni Rivera might not be on my ipod, but she was loved by so many around the world.  My thoughts and heart go out to her family and friends.

Leave a Reply

 
