myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Joy to You Baby”

Posted by purplemary54 on January 15, 2013

So I’ve been catching up on this podcast I discovered not that long ago called the Pop Culture Happy Hour.  They’re all delightfully nerdy and smart writers for NPR, and they make me laugh quite a bit.  While listening to the episode posted back on January 4th, I found out something that made me gasp with joy: Josh Ritter has a new album coming out in March.

The music guy of PCHH–Stephen–chose the first single from the album, The Beast in Its Tracks, as the thing that was making him happy that week, and I have to say, it’s making me pretty darn happy, too.  I’m a huge Josh Ritter fan.  His music is filled with pathos and love and humor.  I discovered him in a story on NPR a few years ago upon release of his wonderful The Animal Years, and I’m so incredibly glad I did.  This new single is pretty typical of his style: acoustic guitar and some sort of vaguely ethereal backing music with intelligent, emotional lyrics.  There’s something transcendent about his best songs, a feeling of a life lived in the clouds.  It’s a break-up song (I think his marriage ended recently), but there’s no bitterness–just a gentle generosity.  What I found most remarkable about hearing this song is that I could sing along after just one or two listens.  It’s not that he’s so terribly predictable, but that it’s so natural and easy.  “And joy to the many, and joy to the few.  And joy to you, baby, and joy to me, too.”

I cannot wait for this album!

Leave a Reply

 
