myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“I Left My Heart in San Francisco”

Posted by purplemary54 on January 20, 2013

Niners!!!!!

In honor of my team making it to the Super Bowl for the first time since the 1990s (95, I think; Steve Young was still playing), here’s Tony Bennett singing a love song to the City by the Bay.

A glorious song for a return to the glory days.  I became a 49ers fan back when Joe Montana was still playing, stuck with them through the lean years (except for a season or two when I intentionally boycotted them because I hated the coach), and here we go again.  I have to admit it would be kind of cool if Baltimore won the AFC game, because then we’d have brothers coaching against each other in the Super Bowl.

As for the song, I’ve always been a sucker for love songs to places.  There’s something enduring about the comfort and peace you get from being at home, wherever that might be.  Tony Bennett’s version of “I Left My Heart in San Francisco” is the definitive version, almost as iconic as the city itself.  I’ve always felt like he was underrated as a singer, having spent most of his career competing with Sinatra, et al.  But his voice is solid and strong, reflecting both the international beauty and the working class core of San Francisco.  It’s a fitting tribute.

Now our hearts are off to New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

 
