myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“It’s Not Easy Bein’ Green”

Posted by purplemary54 on February 25, 2013

A special thanks goes out to Dan for inspiring this post.  His musings and ponderings and lessons always seem to coincide with whatever I happen to be struggling with at the moment.  And it’s always nice to have a fellow traveler on the road of life.

I’m not alone in this world when I say that there are things I don’t always like about myself.  At some point, we all wish for something we don’t have–or less of something we have too much of.  We might want to be taller, or skinnier, or have more money.  We might wonder why [insert deity here] has burdened us with poor health or personal problems.  We’re all occasionally ashamed of how we behave.  Sometimes, we’re all the last person we want to be around.

These feelings are only a problem if we let them control our lives.  Because with certain exceptions, most of the things we don’t like about ourselves can be changed. And if they can’t be changed, our attitude towards these perceived imperfections can be.  I have been blessed with good health, a roof over my head, and the luxury of cable television and Internet access.  There are many more things I’m grateful for, and that I know I’m lucky to have.  And when I’m really down on myself, sometimes it helps to remember those things.  But there are always times when I can’t pull myself out of the mental abyss, when my fear and worry and insecurity get the better of me.  Times when it feels like nothing will ever change no matter what I do, so I might as well give up.

That’s when I get myself a little shot of green.

I’ve known this song since I was knee-high to a grasshopper, but it didn’t really make sense until I was an adult.  Kermit’s theme song is about finding the beauty in who you are, whatever that is, even though “it seems you blend in with so many other ordinary things.”  The hardest thing any of us ever have to accept is ourselves, warts and all.  But accepting yourself is the first step to . . . everything.  It gives you the strength to overcome and handle whatever life throws at you.  Love yourself.  Know yourself.  And for goodness sakes, stop being so hard on yourself.

“When green is all there is to be, it could make you wonder why, but why wonder.  Why wonder?  I’m green, and it’ll do fine.  It’s beautiful, and I think it’s what I want to be.”

Leave a Reply

 
