myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Got Live on TV if You Want It: “Mutineer”

Posted by purplemary54 on March 6, 2013

Let me tell you how I got here.  I was thinking about posting something from Jackson Browne’s 2003 solo acoustic tour, which I caught at UCLA’s Royce Hall with the BFF.  It was hands down one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to.  Browne played by himself onstage, surrounded by a handful of guitars, a baby grand, and an electric piano.  His set list was to take requests from the audience.  (I remember at one point someone shouted out a request for “Somebody’s Baby,” and his reply was “Really?”  He played it.)  It was one of those amazing, transformative experiences that makes life worth living.

It was also his first tour after the death of his longtime friend Warren Zevon.  For those of you who are only familiar with Zevon for “Werewolves of London,” I feel kind of sad for you.  Zevon’s wry, dry sense of humor and resigned sadness are things of beauty.  He was a little too quirky for much mainstream success–kind of like Randy Newman, but less political (see this post for more on Zevon).  But for his fans and friends, there was no one better.  On Jackson Browne’s tour, one of the few planned moments of each show was when he would play one of Zevon’s songs.  The show I saw, Browne sat at the electric piano, and began playing the opening notes to “Frank and Jesse James”, but stopped, saying he couldn’t play that one (not sure why, but it seemed kind of emotional for him).  Then he played the gorgeously sad “Mutineer.”  It was a lovely and loving tribute.

Which brought me to The Late Show with David Letterman.  Like Browne, David Letterman was a longtime friend of Zevon.  Zevon was a regular guest on Letterman’s show, often filling in for Paul Shaffer with the band; Letterman appeared on Zevon’s 2002 album My Ride’s Here.  Not long after Zevon announced he was terminally ill, Letterman devoted an entire show to his friend.  It was one of the sweetest, saddest things I ever watched.  I’m tearing up a little right now, thinking about it.  They joked around and Warren played several songs, including “Mutineer.”  I’m not going to analyze or explain this song.  I’m not sure I could do this gentle song justice, anyway.  But the chorus ends with the line “You’re my witness, I’m your mutineer.”  That night, everyone who watched witnessed something unspeakably beautiful.

Leave a Reply

 
