myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Happy Monday!

Posted by purplemary54 on March 25, 2013

First of all, I would like to wish a Happy Passover to any Jewish readers I might have out there.  (I  learned what little I know about Jewish holidays and observances from reading the All of a Kind Family series of books as a child.  They were awesome, and I highly recommend them.)

Second, today is the birthday of not one, but two great musical voices.  Aretha Franklin was born in 1942, and Elton John was born in 1947 (making them a year younger than my father and the same age as my mother, respectively).  Truly, that qualifies today as one of the happiest Mondays ever–at least for music fans.  While both singers are distinctive and different, Aretha and Elton are both incredibly talented and influential, and I adore them both.  They don’t really need any commentary or editorializing, so just enjoy the clips I chose.  These might not be the best known of their hits, but they’re two of my personal favorites.

(I would’ve used a good live clip of this, but I didn’t like any of the ones I found.)

(It’s kind of cool watching all those dancers get funky around him.)

Leave a Reply

 
