myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Annette Funicello

Posted by purplemary54 on April 8, 2013

I was going to post about today being Julian Lennon’s birthday (which I still might do later), but then I read the sad news that Annette Funicello has passed away after a twenty-six year battle against MS.  When I was little, some channel used to show reruns of the original Mickey Mouse Club.  I watched religiously, and I adored Annette.  Like every other little girl fan, I wanted to be just like sweet, kind, and beautiful Annette.  And from all reports, she was just like that in real life.  Annette was a Disney star and a teen queen/dream girl for decades.  She also made a series of successful beach-themed comedy musicals with Frankie Avalon, most notably Beach Blanket Bingo.  She was as sweet as pie, the ideal all-American girl.

I think Annette was my first hero.  (FYI: My first crush was The Fonz from Happy Days.  There was a serious 50s revival going on during my early childhood.) She acted, sang, and danced.  Sure, it was just bubblegum pop, but Annette sang with bubbly joy and charm.  She was also a great ambassador for the Disney brand, embodying all the innocence and fun of childhood.  Her physical beauty was obvious, but you only needed to look in her eyes to see her beautiful spirit.   Annette might not have changed the world, but she made it a happier place every time she flashed that gorgeous smile.

Leave a Reply

 
