myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

What’s Your Favorite Song?

Posted by purplemary54 on April 27, 2013

I’ve always hated questions like that.  “What’s your favorite song/album/book/movie/TV show/food?”  I don’t have just one favorite anything.  Although if I had to make some choices, I’d probably eat cheeseburgers and Mexican food most of the time, and watch the original Star Wars trilogy and M*A*S*H over most other entertainments.  Solitaire would be the game of choice; Trivial Pursuit if it’s a party.  Coke, not Pepsi; red wine, not white.  And if I had my druthers, I’d wear blue jeans and T-shirts and Converse high tops all the time.

Books and music have always been subject to moods, though.  I read whatever strikes my fancy, and if I find someone I like, I’ll read everything I can get my hands on by that person (thank goodness Terry Pratchett has been pretty prolific).  Same has always gone for music.  I’ve got definite preferences (you’ve probably noticed that by now), but I listen to whatever I’m in the mood for.  I find little things I like about many different songs–the turn of a phrase, the guitar riff, the way the drummer plays, whatever.  There’s always a few songs that I stop what I’m doing to really hear, the songs that make me turn up the volume and sing along.  But I’ve never been able to limit myself to one song.  Or one album.  Or one artist.  If I’m being totally honest, I feel a bit constrained by Top Ten lists.  I usually need at least twenty items before I feel comfortable playing favorites.

I suppose this is my roundabout way of saying I’m having a little trouble picking a song for today’s post.  So I’d like to hear what you all like to listen to best.  What’s your favorite song . . . right now?  Or what’s that one little musical moment that you’ll stop pushing the grocery cart for, or tell people to hush just so you can hear it for the umpteenth time?  What makes you hit replay/repeat on your electronic device of choice?  I’m curious.  Maybe you’ll turn me on to something new.

 

6 Responses to “What’s Your Favorite Song?”

  1. I heard Ben Howard perform a few songs as an opening act in February and fell in love with his sound. I am a lot like you, music is all about what I am in the mood for and sometimes I will hear a song I haven’t heard in a decade and will be reminded again of why I loved it.

  2. Strawberry Fields Forever has been for a long time for me, for many reasons. I wrote about it in one of my posts. It´s almost more for the demoes and what could have been, the scope of the ambition. Beatles are also my favourite band, and although I love McCartney and Harrison´s stuff, Lennon has to be my favourite writer. I´m not crazy about those questions either, but I´ve spent far too much time thinking about the answers. 🙂

    • Love that song! I’m a second generation Beatlemaniac, so I hear where you’re coming from. I felt like asking the question because I really want to know what people listen to. I’ve never been able to narrow my favorites down to single digits. I need lists. Long lists.

      • I´m a second generation Beatlemaniac too, although my dad was more of a Stones fan. Yep, lists never do it justice. I love have many favourites too, but this one is special.

Leave a Reply

 
