myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Freaky Friday “In the Dark”

Posted by purplemary54 on May 10, 2013

Okay, so I know pretty much zip about DJs and their music.  I’ve heard it called by a number of different monikers, including house and industrial music.  But my familiarity pretty much begins and ends with Fatboy Slim’s “Praise You” (which is an awesome song, btw).  The only other thing I know is that the massively talented Bob Mould is apparently also massively talented at DJ-ing (if you choose to believe insane music geek Henry Rollins, which I do).  Otherwise, DJ music is pretty much a blank for me.

Which really left me wholly unprepared for this.

I first heard about this video over at Dangerous Minds, so I gave it a look.  I’m not sorry, because it is so amazing to see and hear.  But it is also profoundly unsettling.  The music is by a DJ known professionally as The Gaslamp Killer (named after the downtown San Diego district near the convention center, where ComicCon is held).  I sampled most of the tracks from his 2012 album, Breakthrough, which “In the Dark” is from.  The majority of the album is in the same artistic vein–which means it’s quite good, but there’s something dark running just beneath the surface.  The video is directed by a pair of filmmakers billing themselves as Hyperballad.  Their use of dichotomy (black/white, men/women, light/shadows) helps create cryptic, ominous visuals that accompany the vaguely terrifying music perfectly.  It’s rare to find a video and song so well-suited, even in this day and age.  The effect is striking, to say the least, but it’s not something I want to watch all the time.  Or, really, ever.

I’ve had creepy things on my mind for quite some time, now.  It started a number of years ago when a former coworker turned me on to the TV show Supernatural, which reawakened my childhood love of ghost stories and paranormal weirdness of all kinds.  I occasionally watch My Ghost Story: Caught on Camera on cable, and I’m very much looking forward to The Conjuring, which will be in theaters in July (it’s based on a case involving Ed and Lorraine Warren, supernatural investigators I read about as a kid).  I also just read The Exorcist, which is one of my favorite scary movies, and which proved to be a good read as well.

The only real difference between the novel and the movie (beside a lot of language and some sexual imagery that would’ve earned the movie something stronger than an R rating) is that the novel was so emotionally unsettling.  I spent a couple hundred pages really getting to know these characters, getting inside their heads, even as the world turned upside down on all of them.  And there’s no explanation as to why it happened.  There’s no instigation or provocation.  The demon just shows up and takes possession of an otherwise ordinary child.  That’s the crux of what makes something like The Exorcist so frightening: There’s no reason behind it.  It just happens, and all these people are left dealing with the fallout.  Kind of like life.

Well, I’ve just been a little ray of sunshine the last couple of days, haven’t I?  It’s probably a sign that I could use some more sleep.

2 Responses to “Freaky Friday “In the Dark””

  1. dan4kent said

    PM54 — You’re at it again ‘Miss Sunshine’! Hadn’t heard this before (that’s where you come in). Was loving the black & white with shades of gray; the ancient ritual feel with the techno/synth track…but then came the cello! Really enjoyed the mini-concert. Encouraging you to claim an extra hour of shut-eye as my kudo for a job well done. Sarcasm aside, sunshine does live within you. Thanks for shining. You helped me today. Dan

    • I’ve been feeling a little dark and dreary lately . . . life and such getting to me a bit more than usual. So it’s showing up in my posts. But I did just think this song and video were kind of stunning. Actually, now that I think of it, a lot of my mood can be attributed to The Exorcist. It’s a dark novel, and I have the tendency to take on the personality of whatever I’m reading. But life has been more stressful lately, so I guess I should try reading something a little happier.

      Glad you enjoyed this one, Dan!

Leave a Reply

 
