myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Epistrophy”

Posted by purplemary54 on May 19, 2013

I’m trying to get back into the swing of the blog, but I might be a little irregular sometimes.  I’m still kind of a wreck emotionally.  And since my mom is sick again, I’ve got her to worry about, too.  I haven’t been able to lean on her for support the way I want to because she’s ill, so that’s been adding to my stress levels.  The only thing that seems to be going right is that Dad’s piles of papers are mostly useless, and I can toss the stuff.  Right now, it’s a lot of waiting for forms to fill out and other stuff.  *sigh*  It’s a good thing there’s music.

One of the things I will always be grateful to my father for is introducing me to the music of Thelonious Monk.  The jagged, dissonant notes blend seamlessly.  No one played piano link Monk.  Jazz helps fill something inside of me that I had no idea was empty, and it helps to listen to it now.

 

5 Responses to ““Epistrophy””

  1. dan4kent said

    For what it’s worth, ’empty’ can not be without a vessel to first contain it. And You (your vessel) is most worthy. By the way, ditto that on Monk’s piano links. He was one of a kind. So too, are you. Peace. Like a fellow blogger said to me, “We’ll leave the light on for you”. Now, back to the music. Dan

    • Those Motel 6 commercials with Tom Bodett were some of my favorites back in the day, so it’s kind of cool that you referenced the tag line. And apparently he’s still doing them.

      The light’s on. Make yourself at home when you come back.

  2. sandee said

    I’m so glad that discarding the piles of paper isn’t going to be complicated — whew!

    I loved this music Mary! And I’m not a huge jazz fan — I think I may even have to listen to this again. I’m imagining your dad listening to this. I hope your mom gets better soon. Remember also to take care of yourself…

Leave a Reply

 
