myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“One”

Posted by purplemary54 on May 21, 2013

Ahmad Jamal was always one of Daddy’s faves.  His taste in jazz ran kind of funny.  He tended toward the piano players and combos.  Most of what he liked was kind of weird and eclectic, but there was a streak of smooth jazz in him (The Modern Jazz Quartet and Tom Scott being the smoothest).  I tried to get him to go out and see Jamal play on the occasions the man toured in our area, but Daddy generally preferred to stay home with his puzzle books and Law & Order reruns.  It’s too bad; he could’ve seen something like this.

A commenter on YouTube said this track was called “One,” so that’s what I’m going with.  In spite of my father’s love for Jamal’s music, he never caught on with me the same way Monk did.  I like the music, but I’m not enthralled by it.  I’ve always tended toward horn players, like Charlie Parker or Wynton Marsalis.  I don’t know what preferences in jazz instrumentation mean; probably nothing.  I also abhor smooth jazz, favoring instead anything smokey and greasy—I like my jazz kinda dirty.  Maybe Ahmad Jamal is a little too refined for my taste.  He’s got some spice to his playing, with just the right amount of Afro-beat, but it all seems kind of clean.

Speaking of clean, I’ve begun going through the clothes and stuff.  I’m going to wash a bunch of things and donate them, but there’s a lot of stuff that ought to be taken out and burned.  Daddy liked to wear his clothes until they were literally falling off his body.  (You have no idea how many times we’d go somewhere, and I’d glance at him only to notice the shoulder of his shirt had torn open.  Or the elbow.  Or the back pocket of his pants.)  I know there’s a lot of people in the midwest right now that wouldn’t mind some of my father’s old shirts.

4 Responses to ““One””

  1. rarasaur said

    Donating the clothes is a great idea. There’s a few local places taking donations right now. A hole or two doesn’t matter to someone who needs everything. 🙂

    • I shipped everything off to the Salvation Army a couple days ago. It’s one of the only charities Dad really trusted, and I know he would’ve been happy for his things to go to them.

  2. sandee said

    Ahaha! What a relief to find there’s someone else who wore their clothes till they fell off of their body! I’m known for that ’round these parts!

    Another nice jazz piece!

    Be well, Mary…

Leave a Reply

 
