myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Repost: “Summer in the City”

Posted by purplemary54 on June 29, 2013

I hate to do another repost so soon, but it’s the most appropriate song  I can think of right now.  I just checked the weather on the computer, and it’s still 90 degrees in my area–at not quite 6:30 PM.  Cripes, I can’t wait for the sun to go down.

One of the nice things about living in SoCal is that no matter how hot it is during the day, it gets a little more pleasant as soon as the sun goes down.  Now the sun has just disappeared behind the houses around me and nice sea breeze is coming up.  Of course, I still feel all hot and icky (cleaning litter boxes is more strenuous than it ought to be when one of the cats insists on digging all the way to the bottom).  It was hot here today; the local weather had the Long Beach area in the 90s.  I know we’re a lot better off than other people, but I get unhappy if the thermometer goes above 78 degrees.  (Hey, anyone know how to make the little circle indicating temperature?)

Hence, I’ve got The Lovin’ Spoonful’s “Summer in the City” stuck in my head.  Sure, I could’ve gone with Martha & the Vandellas’ “Heat Wave,” but that’s a love song disguised as a complaint about the weather.  “Summer in the City” really is about the weather.  I don’t know much about the history, but I can just imagine John Sebastian sitting in his sweltering little walk-up in NYC, praying that an ice truck would fall through the ceiling, fanning himself with yesterday’s newspaper, when the inspiration for this hit.  Or maybe he was sitting on the fire escape planning what he was going to play at that night’s gig.  However it happened, it’s such a concise depiction of what a hot summer in a crowded place is like.  One thing for sure, that Hammond B-3 is seriously hot.

Just a little sidebar, John Sebastian is one of the few people who looks exactly the way he sounds.  He used to have a syndicated radio show I listened to in the late 80s–played blues, folk, and other assorted cool stuff–and his voice put the image of a guy with mousy brown hair and glasses into my head.

5 Responses to “Repost: “Summer in the City””

  1. My favorite part: back of my neck gettin’ dirt and gritty!

  2. Love that song. Weather isn’t too bad over here either…nowhere near your temperatures but we’ll take what we get.

    • Since my people are historically from your neck of the woods (and Canada, on my mother’s side), I tend to prefer the sort of weather that usually dominates there. I hear Ireland has been quite sunny and warm, lately though. Today is actually turning out okay, thanks to a good breeze and some clouds that blew in during the last couple hours.

Leave a Reply

 
