myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Things Might Get . . .

Posted by purplemary54 on July 15, 2013

A little wonky for the next week or two.  I’m having people come in to paint and put in new floors, so there might be times when I don’t have access to the computer.  They left the living room alone today, but I know that won’t last forever.  The nice part is that my house will be mostly pretty enough to invite people into again.  And when my mom moves in (which should be soon), I’ll have decent furniture again.  I won’t be embarrassed.  I’ll still need new windows, light fixtures, and a bunch of other crap, but I won’t be embarrassed anymore.

I’ve always liked the theme of this song: Break-up figured as remodeling.  It’s a way to move on, too.  I’m still going to keep a lot of my father in this house, but beginning the process of fixing things up helps clear the emotional landscape a little bit.  A step in the right direction.

Anyway, if I don’t post for a day or two, it’s because we had to unplug the computer to tear down the ugly 80s fake wood paneling.  Or paint the wall a lovely red.  Or put in new carpet.  Or something like that.

 

Leave a Reply

 
