myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Neptune’s Jewels”

Posted by purplemary54 on July 28, 2013

One of the best things about Welcome to Night Vale, the creepy and creepily funny podcast I touted here a couple of weeks ago, is that the weather segment of each episode is actually a song, generally by artists I’ve never heard of before.  That’s how I discovered Mystic.

While I’m not a huge Rap/Hip-Hop fan, I am always interested in finding out about quality artists.  Mystic is fierce and smart, with a soulful, genre-hopping style.  I don’t know if she’s still active as a recording artist; her one album, Cuts for Luck and Scars for Freedom, apparently came out in 2001–even though the music sounds brand new.  (Of course, it might seem brand new to me because I’ve never heard it before.  I am not up on current trends in Hip-Hop.)  I bought this one on itunes, and I hope that some of you jukebox listeners will be intrigued enough to shell out a few cents for her (or bucks; the whole album is pretty darn good).  I think a voice this good needs all the support she can get.

2 Responses to ““Neptune’s Jewels””

  1. PAZ said

    Funny enough, I grew up on a lot of hip-hop but as I got older I listened to it less and less. I’m EXTREMELY picky about music, particularly hip-hop (I don’t like most mainstream rap). But yes, this is nice!

    • Oops! Sorry I didn’t reply sooner, but life got in the way. I probably ought to be a little more picky about my music, but there’s just so much to listen to. I am pretty choosy about what Hip-Hop I listen to, partly because so much of it is so crass. It’s wonderful to discover something like this, though. Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
