myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Repost: “Banditos”

Posted by purplemary54 on August 14, 2013

Just a little something from the early days of the jukebox.

 

The Refreshments never really hit it big; they’re probably best known for doing the theme from King of the Hill.  That’s not too shocking.  They’re a mid-level, mid-talent rock band.  I don’t know if that’s necessarily bad, but it doesn’t exactly make them stand out in a crowd.

This is the only song I’ve ever liked by them, but I like it a lot.  “Banditos” is the kind of mocking, smart-assed rock that was almost its own genre for a while and which hit its peak with Blink 182 (a group I think very little of, if at all).  The primary audience for this kind of music is adolescent boys, because they’re the kind of people who usually appreciate this kind of humor.  What makes “Banditos” stand out to me (besides the mention of “Captain Jean-Luc Picard”) is the nasty edge to it.  This isn’t mocking in a self-deprecating way; this is kind of mean.

It’s the kind of song I like to listen to when I’m a little annoyed with the world and want to be agreed with.  The clear message here is in the chorus: “Everybody knows that the world is full of stupid people,”  a sentiment that seems so much more obvious during an election year.  Normally, I’m pretty easygoing.  I respect all people whatever their beliefs, color, or fashion choices.  I don’t care if they agree with me (although I prefer it, since I think I’m always right).   I don’t care who they pray to or how (unless it’s naked–then I want nothing to do with it).  I get a little weirded out by people who only watch reality television, but, hey, whatever floats your boat.  I’m not too easily offended, except by two things: stupidity and bigotry.

Let me be clear.  Stupid does not mean uneducated.  I’ve known some really smart uneducated people.  Stupid means deliberately refusing to learn.  You’re stupid if you’ve closed your mind to anything that might oppose you, if you never even bother listening to all sides of an argument or really considering why you hold an opinion.  And there really are a lot of stupid people in the world.  There are also a lot of bigots (usually they’re stupid, too).  Bigots like to pretend they’re not bigoted.  They don’t hate gay people; they just don’t think they deserve all the same legal rights straight people enjoy.  They aren’t racist; it was self-defense when they shot that unarmed black boy.  They believe in freedom of religion, as long as everyone believes in the same god they do.

I could keep going, but I think you get the message.  “Banditos” appeals to the part of me that wants to scream at the world when I think everyone is being an idiot.  It also reminds me that it’s kind of pointless to scream.  Better to laugh at it instead.  And then fight back.

“Well I got the pistols, so I’ll keep the pesos.  Yeah, that seems fair.”

Leave a Reply

 
