myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini”

Posted by purplemary54 on August 21, 2013

Warning: There is no real point to this post.  Any attempt to find any significant meaning herein will be met with laughter and derision.

I’ve always had a great affinity for small things.  I don’t know if it has anything to do with the fact that I’m not an especially tall person (I have to buy pants in the petite section), or with the fact that at one point I was a twelve-year-old girl.

Twelve-year-old girls love small things.  Small things are cute.  And nobody loves cute more than twelve-year-old girls.  They might try to hide it and appear more grown up with midriff-baring t-shirts or their first pair of high heels, or makeup, or whatever.  But small cute things are their great weakness.  Show a twelve-year-old girl a picture of a kitten, and you will soon be surrounded by a gushing chorus of coos and awws.  Trust me.  (Not so coincidentally, there’s a program on Animal Planet called Too Cute which causes me to revert back to that dark time of early adolescence.)

I used to think that I only wanted to buy the small cute items at the market.  You know, the little bottles of liquid dish soap, or the travel-sized tubes of toothpaste.  Luckily for my wallet, I got over that pretty fast.  But I still love small cute things, even when they have no real purpose.  For example, today, I was out at Target buying new curtains so that my mother doesn’t end up flashing the neighbors when she moves in 9 days from now ( I should have a countdown clock, but I’m not that invested in creating one).  I picked up a few other items as well, stuff I needed for the most part.  Except the itty bitty, USB fan.  It’s adorable!  (Strangely, Target doesn’t have a picture of it at their website, but some guy on YouTube made a three-minute video about the one he bought.)  It also creates a decent breeze, so I guess it wasn’t entirely useless for an impulse buy.

What’s any of this got to do with the song?  Nothing.  I just wanted a song about something small to connect to my “topic,” even if it was by the thinnest of threads.

Speaking of small things (cause I don’t think he’s very tall), doesn’t Brian Hyland in this clip bear a very strong resemblance to a current teen idol?  Just sayin’.

2 Responses to ““Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini””

  1. 45spin said

    given a different haircut he could be a dead ringer 🙂 Nice post

Leave a Reply

 
