myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“I Am Woman”

Posted by purplemary54 on September 10, 2013

It’s still today here, so I’m not missing my regular post.  It won’t be tomorrow for about two hours.  But I apologize for being late.  Like John Lennon said, “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”

I did take some time to unwind and watch an episode of American Masters on PBS about the great Billie Jean King.  A lot of people only remember her for that stupid “Battle of the Sexes” match with professional blowhard Bobby Riggs (he was a good tennis player, but his ridiculous stunts eclipsed that fact).  But she was responsible for a lot of the advances women made as athletes in the tennis world and beyond; they named the complex where they play the U.S. Open the Billie Jean King Tennis Center, fer cryin’ out loud.  She is an icon for women’s and gay rights.  She also played a pretty mean game of tennis.

Anyway, they played Helen Reddy’s “I Am Woman” during the show.  It’s a song that was hugely popular, and became sort of a theme of the Feminist movement of the 70s, but it gets ridiculed today.  What struck me was not how cheesy it was (although it is kind of cheesy), but how good it was.  It’s anthemic and empowering.  And I think maybe we need to give it a listen again, because it’s still relevant today.

“Yes, I am wise, but it’s wisdom full of pain.  Yes, I’ve paid the price, but look how much I’ve gained.  If I have to, I can do anything.  I am strong.  I am invincible.  I am woman.”

Leave a Reply

 
