myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Morning Song for Sally”

Posted by purplemary54 on September 12, 2013

This song fits my mood right now.  Somber, quiet, sad.

I had a bad day again today.  I sat down to tutor my shift, and the first essay I got was a daughter writing about her father and his death.  Well, needless to say, I completely lost it.  I couldn’t stop crying for quite some time.  I basically forced one of the cats to sit in my lap (“Mama needs a snuggle, Sasha.”)  I even carried my teddy bear around for a while, because I didn’t feel very much like a grown-up right then; I felt like a little girl who wanted her daddy.

“Morning Song for Sally” is about mourning a lost lover, but it’s the same feeling I’ve got.  I can’t say everything I’m feeling.  I don’t really want to.  Besides my need to be private about these things (because publishing on the Internet is sooooo private), my feelings are still muddled.  Probably always will be.  I’m okay with that; I have a surprising tolerance for ambiguity.

Anyway, I need to stop now.  It’s getting to me again.  Thanks for listening.

“For my waking thoughts of you are but extensions of the dream.  And without you here beside me I’ll never know all that they mean.”

4 Responses to ““Morning Song for Sally””

  1. Take care, Mary

  2. 45spin said

    The saddest thing about lost love is not the love that is lost but the love that is never found. Great post

  3. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
