myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Freakshow”

Posted by purplemary54 on September 16, 2013

I’ve been catching up on a lot of the blogs I follow.  See, WordPress, for some unknown reason, quit sending me updates for a couple of weeks.  Now, because I suffer from a severe case of SOS (Shiny Object Syndrome), if something is not directly in front of my face, I tend to forget it exists.  I combatted this by changing the settings on a few of my regular stops to instant updates instead of daily or weekly, but I left quite a few out.  I’m suddenly getting updates again, except instead of just picking up from the one or two most recent updates, I’ve been getting updates from everything I missed when I wasn’t getting anything in my inbox.  Needless to say, I’m still forgetting quite a few, but this time it’s because I just don’t have time to read it all.  (Jeez, you guys are prolific.)

But I did notice this one by Kirsty Fraser today.  I like break-up songs.  They’re loads of fun–as long as you’re not actually in the middle of a break-up–and I had a good time reading about her seven stages of breaking up with someone.

Of course, that got me thinking about one of my favorite break-up songs.

This is such a wonderful middle finger in the face of every guy who tried to make any girl feel like she was worthless or unattractive.  It’s not the rage of “You Oughta Know”, or the sorrow of “Long, Long Time”.  It’s just gleefully malicious.  She doesn’t sound surprised.  She doesn’t even seem shocked.  She is a little sad, but it seems like she’s mostly sad that the guy finally proved what a dick she suspected he was all along.  It’s a fun song for women like me, who’ve long come to expect being disappointed in men.

Don’t get me wrong.  I like men.  Some of my best friends are men.  But I’ve also learned not to expect them to be anything other than the flawed humans they are.  And I hope that’s all they expect from me.  Nobody is ever going to live up to the fairy tale notion that society has been pushing on us for far too long.  It’s time we fought back with a little reality.

Although if I were looking, I’d just want a boyfriend with a brain cell, too.

2 Responses to ““Freakshow””

  1. Hey great post! Thanks for reading my blog, I think it’s definitely best not to expect too much from men and just see what happens. When you expect nothing that’s when you usually find something wonderful!

Leave a Reply

 
