myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Pick Up the Pieces”

Posted by purplemary54 on September 25, 2013

I’m not quite sure why I picked up on this one today, but here it is.

Of course, I suppose it’s not too unusual for this to end up on my radio.  It was ubiquitous in the 70s and much of the 80s.  Not quite as overplayed as, say, “Wicked Game,” but it showed up in just about every movie, TV show, and radio playlist.  It’s still pretty commonly heard, especially if you want to evoke the time of Disco, bell bottoms, and astrological medallions floating in a sea of chest hair.

This is really one of the Funk-Soul classics, eminently danceable and fun.  Overplaying is less of a problem when the song is this good.  I remember my aunt used to have the AWB album this song is from.  You know, the one with their name in script that has the “W” formed by a stylized drawing of a lady’s backside.  I couldn’t read cursive yet, so it made no sense why anyone would want a naked lady’s rear end in their band name.  (I knew it was a name, but that’s about it.)

What most people don’t ever really think about is that Average White Band is Scottish.  I don’t know that their nationality had anything to do with a booty in their name, but it certainly is kind of astonishing.  “Funky” and “danceable” are not the first words I think of when I think of Scotland.  “Kilts” and “incomprehensible accents” come to mind, as does Craig Ferguson.  If I’m feeling literary, I might think about Robert Burns.  But not funky and danceable.

Maybe all that Scotch whiskey finally loosened them up.

Leave a Reply

 
