myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Freaky Friday: “Anxiety”

Posted by purplemary54 on October 4, 2013

This isn’t really a freaky song, or even a freaky band (no matter what some people think about Punk).  But it seemed appropriate.

I’m not any more anxious than I usually am.  I know I have a touch of generalized Anxiety Disorder, but nothing that interferes with my life too much.  But the Santa Ana winds are blowing hot from the north for the next couple of days, and that always makes people around here a little jumpy.

I don’t know whether it’s because of the heat (because that’s what happens when these winds from the Northeast blow out to the coast; I don’t even play a meteorologist on TV, so don’t ask me).  I don’t know if it’s the increased fire danger (we’re all on “red flag alert”).  I don’t know if there’s some kind of weird combination of dust/allergens/pollution that creeps everybody out.  But it’s kind of like a full moon.  It especially seems like people get angry easier.  Even the animals seem on edge.  (I’ll be keeping an eye on the kitties this weekend.)

Add to the Santa Ana’s the fun story I heard on the local news today about it being tarantula mating season.  That means our furry eight-legged friends are gonna be out en masse, lookin’ for love.  They aren’t poisonous or mean, but some people get a little wigged about a spider the size of their palms.  Halloween is coming, too.  October always brings its own special vibe–kind of creepy, but in a good way.  I might dig out my DVD of The Exorcist, and watch it on our new big TV (50 inches, the football game looked great last night).

(Come to think of it, football season has been a little strange so far.  Kansas City is 4-0.  What’s up with that?)

Things are just a little unsettled here in the land of fruits, nuts, and flakes.  I’m even getting a bit too parenthetical today.  So if you’re out here in SoCal, I hope you ride out the winds without any damage.  If you know people out here, try not to poke at them with anything too sharp.  They’re liable to bite.

4 Responses to “Freaky Friday: “Anxiety””

  1. MD said

    best band ever… Could of also went with “Los Angeles is Burning” (in the not-political-metaphorical-but-still-not-exactly-literal sense) because… It is very hot. I’m off to air conditioned bars…

    • They’re not one of my fave raves, but the song just fit the jittery Santa Ana feeling. Although, Los Angeles does feel like it’s burning right now. So does Long Beach, and Costa Mesa, and Cerritos, and . . .
      🙂

  2. 45spin said

    After reading your post I’m gonna send my friends in Orange County a fan, dust mask and a very large spider trap. Nice post BTW

Leave a Reply

 
