myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Ranty Friday

Posted by purplemary54 on October 11, 2013

I use the word freak pretty liberally.  It means a lot of different things to me.  Sometimes, it’s in the dancing/partying/naked fun times sense (not that I’m currently participating in any of those activities), like Rick James’s “Superfreak.”  Sometimes it’s in the “ooh, that’s scary” sense (ex: “I was so freaked out by The Blair Witch Project, I slept with the lights on for a week.”).  Sometimes it’s an affirmation of the glorious weirdness that makes up the human race and the world of music; that’s why I started Freaky Fridays in the first freakin’ place.  (As you see, it also makes a nice substitute for cussing.)

But then there’s the times like right now.  When the only way I can even consider using “freak” is as the worst sort of insult.  I apply it to people who are so far outside the norm, even for me, of human behavior that they are unable to be considered as members of civilized society.  They are the bad kind of freaks, people who have done something abominable that I cannot wrap my brain around.  I’m going to mention a football figure soon, but this isn’t about football. This is about a little boy.

The 2-year-old son of Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson has died (allegedly) as a result of being beaten by his mother’s boyfriend.  If this is true (and I’m pretty sure it is), that man, Robert Joseph Patterson, is the worst sort of freak there is.  That isn’t spanking; that’s abuse.  That makes you the worst, most pathetic excuse for a human being there is.  You’re not even fit to be called a cockroach, because cockroaches have more sense than to beat their young until they die.  (Yes, naturalists, there are incidents of male animals killing the young of other males, but I think that’s reprehensible, too.  Even though I know it makes no sense to attribute morals to an animal.)  I cannot abide abusing children; killing them is so disgusting I can’t see straight.

Do whatever it takes to prevent child abuse.  Intervene if you think a family member has gone too far.  Call the cops next time there’s screaming from one of your neighbors.  Here’s the National Hotline if you need a place to call (I’m sure there are hotlines around the world; learn what yours is).  If it’s not abuse, it’ll get straightened out.  You might look stupid, and you might be embarrassed, but think about how you’d feel if some kid died because you didn’t want to look stupid.  I don’t know if there was a history with 2-year-old Adrian Peterson, Jr. *, but if there was and nobody said anything, then they’re evil freaks, too.

*I mistakenly identified this as the boy’s name.  Reports say that it was not Adrian Peterson, Jr., but the child’s name has not been released at this time.

Leave a Reply

 
