myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“The Secret of Life”

Posted by purplemary54 on October 14, 2013

Today’s post is inspired in part by Rob over at 45 Spins.  He seems to be musing over the one thing all bloggers muse about from time to time: 

Just exactly what the hell is my blog about?

He’s a music blogger, like me, although I’ve discovered blogging about music has led me down all sorts of interesting avenues.  I manage to incorporate just about anything that tickles my fancy or raises my ire.  It doesn’t always work, but I decided long ago that I’m not going to delete any post just because no one read it.  If I did, I never would’ve gotten this far.  I do think there’s a song for every situation, every event, every milestone.  Sort of like an ultimate soundtrack to the movie we’re all starring in.  It’s called Life: How 6 Billion+ People are Living It.  Music is life, and life is filled with music.

Rob’s post really reminded me of this song.  We all want to know what our lives mean, and I guess figuring out what your blog means is just another piece to that puzzle.  What is the meaning of life?  I suppose it depends on who you ask, and when.  For the nerdier among us, the answer to the question is 42.  For some people it’s family, or God.  For others, it’s their careers.  If you’re a child, life is getting hugs and presents for Christmas and riding your bike (or whatever kids get up to these days).  If you’re a teenager, your life is defined by things like crushes and popularity and whether or not you passed your driver’s test.  For me . . .  well, I think it’s all those things.  And none of them.  Because what it comes down to is what the song says: “The secret of life is there ain’t no secret, and you don’t get your money back.”

Although if you really pressed me, I suppose I’d quote another song to you, one that really does say the one true thing I will always believe.

“All you need is love.”

 

 

2 Responses to ““The Secret of Life””

  1. 45spin said

    What a great song that describes just what I was thinking about in life & love and even a cup of really good coffee. The only thing that I know for sure about life is that love gives it meaning and purpose.

    I love blogging for a whole lot of reasons that I didn’t even know mattered when I started blogging, It’s amazing how the act of typing on your post those feelings & random thoughts that seemed confusing sure get a lot clearer once you see them on a screen. Been several times I’ve had to censor myself and delete a few lines as I needed to make sure the whole didn’t really need to know how nuts I really am somedays 🙂

    Thanks for your fantastic post, It made my day

    • I’m glad I made your day! 🙂 You made me think, which is a compliment. I like it when people make me think.

      I also think you should go ahead and go a little nuts. It’s even healthier than eating them.

Leave a Reply

 
