myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Lola”

Posted by purplemary54 on October 20, 2013

Thanks to Kira for reblogging this.  She’s become my main source for news, good and bad, about the way trans folks get treated in out society.  I’m not reblogging it myself, but that’s only because I feel a rant coming on.

First things first: I am well aware that “Lola” is about a transvestite, or crossdresser, and not a transgender person.  I know the difference.  But this song is so joyful and positive.  It’s about knowing who you are, and loving yourself.  Lola sounds like an awesome date.  Or drinking buddy.  Or confidant.  I wish I knew someone like Lola.  I wish everyone knew someone like Lola.  Maybe then there wouldn’t be so much hate in this world.

California’s Governor Moonbeam recently signed a law protecting transgender students.  One of the rights they are now guaranteed is the right to go pee in the bathroom of the sex/gender they identify as.  This is a huge victory for out trans kids.  Imagine this: You were born as a boy, but you openly identify as female.  You wear girl’s clothes and makeup.  You giggle about boys and paint your nails.  You’re even receiving hormone treatments as part of your medical transition.  How would you feel if you were told you had to use the boy’s bathroom because you still had a penis?  How safe or comfortable would you be going to the bathroom at school?  I know I wouldn’t feel particularly safe.  It’s like giving every ignorant asshole out there a free pass to torture you.

Spreading lies about a mythical transgender girl harassing cisgender girls in the bathroom at a school makes it even easier to discriminate against trans kids.  It helps perpetuate every lie that homophobes, trans-phobes, and bigots have ever told.  It’s wrong.  Kids are cruel; not so much because they’re mean, but because they’re ignorant.  Kids are especially cruel to anyone the perceive as “different.”  (I know, because I’m not trans or gay, but I was always different, and so were most of my friends.)  If adults keep lying about things like this, kids will think it’s okay to be cruel to trans kids.  And then things will get even uglier than they already are for these beautiful young people.

Here’s a link if you want to know more about helping trans kids.

 

Leave a Reply

 
