myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Lou Reed

Posted by purplemary54 on October 27, 2013

This one is hitting me really hard.  I am shocked and saddened at the sudden death of Lou Reed.  I really don’t know what to say.  He could be crude, arrogant, and supremely distasteful.  But he was one of the finest songwriters that ever graced Rock & Roll, and a charismatic performer.  He was, to me, the coolest guy to ever walk the face of the Earth.

“Busload of Faith” is one of my favorite songs by Reed.  It’s angry and sarcastic and marvelous.  Lou Reed had gotten kind of happy during the last decade or so, but he never quite let go of the hardass attitude that made him so great.

My heart goes out to his widow, Laurie Anderson, and the rest of his family and friends.  Lou Reed was 71.

3 Responses to “Lou Reed”

  1. […] Mae and Biff Were grooving down the street And just like in a movie, her hands became her feet Her belly-button was her mouth Which meant she tasted what she’d speak But the funny thing is what happened to […]

  2. MD said

    May the kids continue to go through their velvet phase sometime just after high school. Is that a thing? That should really be a thing.

    • I didn’t go through my Velvets phase until my thirties, so I don’t know if it’s a thing or not. It should be. In fact, I think they should just issue VU albums to all incoming college freshmen; it’ll save everyone a lot of time.

Leave a Reply

 
