myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Here Kitty, Kitty . . .

Posted by purplemary54 on October 29, 2013

Know what today is (or was, depending on your time zone; it’s about 4:30 PM here)?  Well, if you have a cat, then you’re probably already sorry if you don’t (see here for more information).  It’s National Cat Day!

I don’t think I’ve made my love of cats a secret, but just in case anyone missed it, I love cats.  I’ve had at least one in my life pretty constantly since I was eight.  That’s when we moved into the house I live in now, and my parents got me the kitten they promised me.  (For the record, I honestly don’t remember asking for a kitty, but I’m sure that I probably begged and badgered until they gave in.)  She was a tabby named Sabrina; she is still probably the best, most psychologically sound cat I ever owned.  I stepped on a piece of glass one time, and while I was lying on the floor screaming bloody murder while my father attempted to pull the shard out of the middle of my foot, she came over and grabbed the sleeve of my shirt and tugged.  I flailed her away, but to this day, I’m pretty sure she was trying to rescue me.  When I realized what happened (read: my mother explained it), I knew I was loved by that wonderful little creature.

Cats aren’t the aloof, arrogant beasts many people assume they are.  Okay, they are pretty arrogant, but I’ve never had a cat that didn’t want fairly constant attention from every human within a fifty mile radius.  They’re soft and curl up in your lap (or along your torso if you lay on your side, like one of my girls was just doing a little while ago).  They butt their heads against you when they love you.  (With the top of their heads, mind you; rubbing the sides of their faces is scent-marking to claim ownership.)  They can seem pretty entitled, and they’re generally not too shy about demanding whatever it is they crave at the moment–be it your attention or another can of cat food.  But I can forgive a lot when the minute I touch one and they start purring.  How can anyone not love something that purrs?

I’ve had many beautiful, loving cats in my life.  And I know I haven’t always been the best pet mommy in the world.  So I am continuously grateful for all that they have given me.  If you have a kitty, go give it a hug.  You’ll get thanked with a purr or a head butt.

If you don’t get scratched for disturbing a perfectly good nap, that is.

2 Responses to “Here Kitty, Kitty . . .”

  1. MD said

    Cats close my throat and sinuses in my old age but lee rocker is still the shit.

    • Allergies are a completely legitimate reason not to have cats in your life. But they do make pills for that, you know. 🙂

      I’ve grown to appreciate what all the Stray Cats were doing back then, even though I didn’t like it when I was a kid. It’s good stuff that’s well played. And, yeah, Lee Rocker is still pretty much the shit.

Leave a Reply

 
