myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

A Little Laugh for Monday

Posted by purplemary54 on November 4, 2013

If this doesn’t make you giggle, then you clearly don’t have a sense of humor.

Monty Python always makes me laugh, and “The Lumberjack Song” is one of their classic bits.  There’s no malice in it, just their usual brand of insanity.  (The sketch that leads into this song is about a blood spattered barber trying not to murder his latest customer.)  I don’t think I’d still like it if it were the mean kind of humor that I see so much of these days.  That’s what set the Pythons apart, I think.  They made fun of everyone, but it was done cleverly and generously.  Some of their more political humor could get spiteful, but that’s only fair; politicians are pretty spiteful, too.  If someone was offended by a Monty Python bit, then I don’t think that person got the joke.

That’s about all I’ve got for now.  I’ve been trying to get some more of my house into order, so I’m a little off my game.  Enjoy the clip.

 

Leave a Reply

 
