myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Papa Gene’s Blues”

Posted by purplemary54 on December 4, 2013

Note:  I know I said this last year, at about this same time, but I’m planning some changes for the blog.  Hopefully, things won’t go to hell in a handbasket this time.  Stay tuned for updates.

I love the Monkees, and Mike Nesmith is my personal favorite Monkee.  I’m only thinking about him because of this post from Dangerous Minds (which has me rethinking my future music purchases, btw).  He was their best songwriter and probably their most accomplished musician, but because of the manufactured nature of the Monkees, he was never really allowed to blossom as an artist with the group.

Of course, that doesn’t mean he didn’t make some awesome music with them.

This song just makes me happy, although I’ve got no idea why it’s called “Papa Gene’s Blues.”  Maybe it’s some kind of off-kilter reference to the Mamas & the Papas.  Maybe it’s based on some guy named Gene.  Maybe Mike just thought it sounded cool.  Who cares?  It’s a sunny, cheerful little love song that helped set the stage for the Country Rock revolution of the late 60s (it’s one of the earliest examples, after all).

“Play, magic fingers!”

Leave a Reply

 
