myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Who Are You?”

Posted by purplemary54 on January 6, 2014

I’ve recently begun following bottledworder, and she wants to know who her readers are.  I thought since I’ve gained a few followers since I started this little enterprise that I ought to give explaining myself an update.

Whenever somebody asks me who I am, I always want to respond, “I’m just me.”  Like most people, I’m pretty complicated and pretty simple at the same time.  I feel like I’m a low-maintenance person, but I know I can be passive-aggressive and needy (both of which are pretty high-maintenance qualities).  I’m essentially lazy, but productive and efficient when I’m taking care of business.  I like being alone much of the time, but one of my New Year’s resolutions is to stay in better touch with my friends and family.  I am, as the song says, “a walking contradiction” (bonus points for naming the song . . . I’m testing out a possible new blog feature that could result in prizes).

I’m a single, middle-aged white woman living in the suburbs.  My mom has moved into the house with me, which has filled in a little of the gigantic hole left when my father passed away last May.  I don’t have kids, but I do have cats, which sometimes amounts to a similar amount of work.  I like books and movies and music (duh).  My idea of a nice day out is visiting a museum.  I abhor stupidity.  I believe in equality, justice, and all around fairness.  I’m a raging liberal, a Buddhist, and (gasp!) an intellectual.  (That’s right, boys and girls, I’m the Tea Party’s worst nightmare.)

I like all kinds of music, but I’m partial to Classic Rock and singer-songwriter types.  As a writer and reader, words are especially important to me, so I tend to place a lot of emphasis on lyrics.  I can’t sing or play an instrument, but I love to listen.  Don’t look to me for detailed discussions of guitar tunings or recording techniques; I’ll opine on what I know, and fake the rest.  Music is one of the most important parts of my life, and I will always try to treat it with respect.  If I go off on a particular artist, it’s because I think they add nothing to the musical lexicon.  And if you’ve been reading this blog for longer than, say, five posts, you probably already know a lot of this.

But a little refresher never hurts.  (Just for the record, I have a lot of trouble spelling the word “maintenance,” even though one of my favorite books is Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.)

4 Responses to ““Who Are You?””

  1. Thanks. Loved reading this. I like that you like words.

  2. Sandee said

    Ah… As long as I’ve followed you — I didn’t know some of the things above! Nice to learn a little more about ‘purplemary54’ 🙂

    • I guess a lot of those things have only been hinted at before. I tried not to repeat other stuff I know I’ve said about myself (if I could only remember which posts they were in). I’m glad I can still surprise you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
