myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Flowers in the Window”

Posted by purplemary54 on January 30, 2014

Mom ended up staying home from work today (her battery died, and she had to get AAA to come fix it).  So this afternoon, we ran a couple of errands, including visiting the garden center at one of the big box home improvement stores.  As a result, we have three new plants to keep away from the plant-biting kitty.

I like having plants.  They’re good for the air, and they look nice.  Pothos are great because they’re almost impossible to kill.  (Seriously, as long as you water them, they’ll just keep growing.)  But I’m going to have to look up the other plants we got on the interwebs because I don’t know anything about them.  I certainly don’t want to kill them.  I’m not a gardener, but I can usually keep houseplants alive.  As long as they’re not too touchy, anyway.

Because I have a plant-biting kitty, however, I’m trying to be careful about bringing plants that are toxic to her into the house.  She’s already nibbled on my lucky bamboo (toxic) and the poinsettia we had for Christmas (toxic).  I’m pretty sure she got ahold of the sad little pothos that my mother brought when she moved in (toxic).  She’s still alive.  She doesn’t eat them; she just bites off leaves until the poor little plants are naked (the current state of my bamboo).  I think I’ll have to put them somewhere she can’t easily get to until she gets used to them.

And then maybe I’ll buy that bridge in Brooklyn I’ve been thinking about purchasing.

Leave a Reply

 
