myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Bad Moon Rising”

Posted by purplemary54 on February 2, 2014

Sorry I was lazy yesterday, but I wish you all a happy Lunar New Year anyway.  It’s the Year of the Horse, so this also would’ve been appropriate.  But as I perused the headlines on my homepage just a few moments ago, I saw the news that brilliant actor Philip Seymour Hoffman was found dead in his New York apartment this morning.

So far, the Lunar New Year is not off to a good start.

I rather hope this isn’t a portent for the year.  It’s always tragic when someone dies too young (Hoffman was only 46).  Although there’s no confirmation yet, Hoffman’s death is suspected to be an overdose, which makes it even worse.  What a waste of such talent.  I’m starting to be glad that I’m merely good at my chosen art rather than extraordinarily gifted.  So many of the truly great artists are equally troubled, finding some kind of solace in drugs/alcohol/recklessness that ultimately lead to their untimely deaths.  Pick an art form or entertainment, and you will find it littered with the bodies of geniuses who died young.  (Accidents and murders not caused by reckless behavior are exceptions, of course, but even more tragic for it.)

Whatever the causes or reasons, my heart goes out to Hoffman’s family.  My wish is that this year, lunar and calendar, is better than its beginning.

3 Responses to ““Bad Moon Rising””

  1. Such a great clip

Leave a Reply

 
