myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Somebody Loved”

Posted by purplemary54 on February 8, 2014

I had a rather unsettling dream toward the end of my afternoon nap.  Not a nightmare, just kind of strange.  It might have had something to do with the fact that I had the TV tuned to a show called The Haunting Of while I was sleeping.  It’s a spin-off of Celebrity Ghost Stories in which the celebrity (a term they use rather loosely, IMO) in question goes back to the place of their paranormal experience, and meets with medium Kim Russo to communicate with the spirit they encountered and resolve any unresolved feelings they have about the experience.  Sometimes they resolve some other unresolved feelings, too.  (The episode with former Love Boat star Bernie Kopell was actually kind of sweet and moving.)  It’s dopey, but I do enjoy a good ghost story.

But the show bled into my dreams a little bit, and left me kind of out of whack since I woke up.  So I was pleasantly surprised when this sweet little song by the Weepies came up on my computer while I was playing a little solitaire, because it instantly settled my nerves.

It’s a lovely meditation on how love changes your world, in all the best ways possible.  It’s also gentle and charming.  “Somebody Loved” is one of those songs I think is best listened to on headphones; it emphasizes the intimacy of Deb Talan’s singing.  It’s a close, quiet song that made me feel better today.  I hope it does the same for you.

2 Responses to ““Somebody Loved””

  1. 45spin said

    What a great song, I had never heard of them until now. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
