myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)”

Posted by purplemary54 on February 13, 2014

So I had a little epiphany last night.

Nothing is ever going to fill in the gaping hole in my heart that my father’s death left behind.  Nothing.  It’s just something I’ll have to live with.  And I know there are going to be good days and bad days.  But now I know something else, too:

I’m okay.

I’m probably not as okay as I’d like to be, but I’m doing all right.  Losing Daddy really was the end of the world as I had always known it.  You just always expect your parents to be there, and things really go sideways when they’re suddenly gone.  But you adapt.  The world as you know it might be over, but a new one will take its place.

That’s what I realized as I listened to this song on the radio last night.  Nothing big or earth shattering.  Just that I’m okay.

One Response to ““It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)””

  1. I am very happy to hear that.

    And yes, nothing really fills that hole they leave when they die but we have to keep on going and hopefully have some happiness down the road

Leave a Reply

 
