myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Revisitation: “Looking for Me Somewhere”

Posted by purplemary54 on March 3, 2014

I’ve written about this song before.  But after looking at that post (from the early days of the jukebox), I think it only scratches the surface of what this song does.  Problem is, I’m not sure I can dig any further down.

I can’t quite explain this song.  Everything I said about flat land and stars and midwestern dirt is all true, but there’s something more to it than that.  There’s a yearning to it.  There’s hope.  There’s fear.  But naming some of the emotions it evokes still doesn’t quite sum up this song.  Describing the gentle shuffle of brushes on drumheads or the murmur of the bass gives you some idea of the way the BoDeans arranged and recorded the song, but in a sense they’re just sounds.  Great sounds, to be sure, but still just sounds.  And the music is only part of what I hear when I listen to this song.  I also hear twilight falling and crickets and the wind coming up.

Some music just defies explanation.  No matter how hard you try, you will never quite hit on that one thing that makes it work.  “Looking for Me Somewhere” is more than the sum of its parts.  It is as wide open as country plains and skies.  I think that’s as it should be.  Everything I’ve written about this song is what it means to me.  It might mean something entirely different to you.  Or it might mean nothing at all.  You might listen, and hear nothing at all.

Funny, but I think I can hear silence in this, too.

 

 

2 Responses to “Revisitation: “Looking for Me Somewhere””

  1. Sandee said

    I like the gentle flow and reflection of this song.

Leave a Reply

 
